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Nonoccupational and occupational death 
benefits provide a benefit payment to 

survivors when a PERS member dies. Your 
beneficiary designation may determine who 

receives your death benefit.

Alaska Division of Retirement and Benefits
Defined Benefit Retirement Plan, PERS Tier I, II, and III

Understanding PERS Death Benefits

Nonoccupational Death Before 
Retirement
When a member dies from nonoccupational causes before 
retiring, the spouse or other eligible beneficiary is entitled to the 
death benefit described below. 

Nonvested Member Death Benefits
For members with less than one year of PERS service the death 
benefit is the balance of the employee contribution account. This 
includes:

•	 Mandatory contributions, voluntary contributions, 
indebtedness principal and interest payments, and interest 
credited to the account. 

For members with at least one year of PERS service, but not yet 
vested, the death benefit is:

•	 The balance of the employee contribution account. This 
includes the same as listed above, and

•	 A lump-sum death benefit of $1,000 plus $100 times the 
years of credited service.

Vested Member Death Benefits
For a member vested in the PERS, the death benefit is:

Spouse Beneficiary
The nonvested member death benefits for members with at least 
one year of service; or

A monthly 50% joint and survivor benefit.

The 50% joint and survivor benefit is based on the member’s 
average monthly compensation and years of PERS credited 
service at the time of death.

The spouse must have been married to the member for at least 
one year to be eligible to receive the 50% joint and survivor 
benefit. If the death is accidental or occupational, this one-year 
requirement does not apply.

Non-Spouse Beneficiary
If someone other than the spouse is the designated beneficiary, 
that person will receive the nonvested member death benefits for 
members with at least one year of service.

Occupational Death Before 
Retirement
When a member dies from job related causes before retirement 
or while receiving occupational disability benefits, the spouse or 
other eligible beneficiary is entitled to a death benefit. The 
member does not have to be vested to qualify for occupational 
death benefits.

The spouse is automatically the designated beneficiary if they 
were married during part of the member’s employment and a 
waiver of benefits was not received by the Division. If there is no 
surviving spouse, and the member has dependent children, the 
monthly survivor’s pension will be divided equally among those 
children.

The monthly survivor’s pension is equal to 40% of the member’s 
gross salary at the time of death or end of employment due to 
occupational disability. For a peace officer or fire fighter, the 
monthly survivor’s pension is the greater of 50% of the gross 
salary or 75% of the normal retirement benefit they would have 
earned when they retired.

At the member’s normal retirement date (by age or service) the 
benefit changes. The benefit will then be paid as if the member 
had worked until normal retirement.

Exception: The pension amount payable to survivors of 
members who first entered the PERS before July 1, 1976, will be 
allowed to choose to receive benefits under the current law or 
old law.
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The information in this brochure is not intended to replace the Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, or the plan documents.   
Language contained in Alaska Statutes, the Alaska Administrative Code, and the plan documents governs the plans.

Death Benefit Payments
Benefits accrue from the first day of the month following the 
member’s death and are payable at the end of the month.

For a nonoccupational death, monthly death benefits cease when 
the spouse dies.

For an occupational death, benefits stop when there is no longer 
a surviving spouse or eligible dependent child.

Death Benefits for Retired Members
When a member dies after they have retired, the beneficiary is 
entitled to the benefit check for the month in which the member 
dies, if not already paid to the member. However, a check 
payable to a deceased member must be returned to the Division 
and reissued in the beneficiary’s name. It is illegal to cash a 
deceased member’s check.

If the member selected a joint and survivor option at retirement, 
then the beneficiary will start receiving that benefit.

If the member did not select a joint and survivor option, then 
the beneficiary will receive the balance remaining in the 
employee contribution account, if any.

Beneficiary Designation
Remember: Payment of PERS death benefits is based on the last 
designation received by the PERS.

An up-to-date Beneficiary Designation for Active and Deferred
Members (form 02-822) or Retiree Beneficiary Designation (form 
02-822a) should always be on file with the PERS.

If no beneficiary is designated, or the beneficiary is deceased, 
the benefits will be paid:

•	 To the surviving spouse or, if there is none;

•	 In equal parts to the surviving children or, if there are none;

•	 In equal parts to the surviving parents or, if there are none;

•	 To the member’s estate.

What Tier Am I?
Members who first entered a PERS position and were 
making contributions:

•	 Tier I — Before 7/1/86.
•	 Tier II — On or after 7/1/86, but before 7/1/96.
•	 Tier III — On or after 7/1/96, but before 7/1/06.

The information included here only applies to Tiers I, II, and III.

https://drb.alaska.gov/

