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Insurance Benefits

INSURANCE 13 – new law (Rev. 3/09)

You have the option of selecting retiree
medical insurance coverage for:

(1) yourself only;

(2) yourself and your spouse or same-sex partner;

(3) yourself and your eligible dependent children; or

(4) yourself, your spouse , and eligible dependent children.

If you chose retiree medical insurance coverage for yourself
only and then marry or have your first child (by birth or adoption),
you may increase your coverage to include your new dependent.
You must apply for the additional coverage within 120 days of the
change in your family structure or wait until the next open
enrollment period. You may drop coverage for yourself or your
dependents at any time.

At age 60, AlaskaCare coverage is system-paid for eligible
PERS and TRS members and their survivors. PERS members
hired on or after July 1, 1996, must have at least 10 years of
credited service+ to receive system-paid medical. Disabled
members also have system-paid coverage while they are
receiving PERS or TRS disability benefits. Once a disabled
member is eligible for a normal retirement benefit, disability
benefits cease.

When you or your spouse turn age 65, Medicare will
become the primary carrier and coverage under AlaskaCare will
supplement your Medicare coverage. It is important to enroll in
Medicare as soon as you or your spouse become eligible so that
your medical expenses will be covered at the maximum level
(see back side).

When you enroll in AlaskaCare, a health insurance identification
card will be mailed to you as soon as the claims administrator
receives your eligibility from the Division of Retirement and
Benefits—generally about two weeks after your first retirement
check is issued.

Coverage under AlaskaCare will differ from coverage that you
have with your current employer.

Continued on back

Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS-Tier II & III)*
Teachers’ Retirement System (TRS-Tier II)**

Medical Plan
The following information applies to Tier II and III PERS*
members (and their survivors) and Tier II TRS** members
(and their survivors), who have met service eligibility
requirements.

If you are a Tier II/III PERS* or Tier II TRS** member,
you may receive retiree medical insurance coverage for
yourself and your spouse and eligible dependents when you
retire. If you enroll when you retire, coverage will begin on the
first day of retirement. You pay the full monthly premium if
you are under age 60.  Premiums will be deducted from your pension
benefit.

 Regardless of your age at retirement, coverage under the
retiree medical plan (AlaskaCare) requires you to pay the
annual deductibles and any expenses that exceed the usual,
customary, and reasonable charge (UCR). Details about this
coverage are provided in the Retiree Insurance Information Booklet.
This coverage ends when you die or become ineligible to
receive monthly PERS or TRS benefits.

To receive this coverage, you must complete a Health
Benefits Enrollment/Waiver form. If you sign up for coverage at
retirement, you will not be subject to any pre-existing
condition limitations. Your form must be received by the
Division of Retirement and Benefits or postmarked before
your retirement date.

If you do not select insurance at the time of retirement, you
will have the opportunity to do so during an open enrollment
period, offered annually. Coverage selected during open enrollment
will be effective January 1 of the following year. The first premium
will be deducted from your January pension benefit and noted as
a deduction on your check stub.

If you select coverage during an open enrollment period, you
and your eligible dependents may be subject to a pre-existing
condition limitation. Under this limitation, only the first $1,000
of covered charges will be paid during the first 12 months of
coverage for a condition that was diagnosed or treated in the three
months prior to the effective date of coverage. If you do not have
other group coverage, or if you had coverage that ended more
than 90 days before the AlaskaCare coverage began, you are
subject to this pre-existing condition limitation.

Dental-Vision-Audio (DVA) Plan
You may purchase DVA group insurance coverage for:

(1) yourself only,
(2) yourself and your spouse,
(3) yourself and your eligible dependent children, or
(4) yourself, your spouse , and eligible dependent children.

Details about this coverage are provided in the Retiree Insurance
Information Booklet. The current premium rates are shown on the
Health Benefits Enrollment/Waiver form.

*PERS Tier II and III members who first entered a PERS-covered position after June 30, 1986, but before July 1, 2006.
**TRS Tier II members who first entered a TRS-covered position after June 30, 1990, but before July 1, 2006.

+Credited service includes all service used in the calculation of a
retirement benefit.
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Long-Term Care (LTC) Plan
You may purchase LTC group insurance coverage for yourself
only, or coverage for both you and your spouse. Details about
the options available are provided in the Long-Term Care Plan
Booklet. The current premium rates are shown on the Health
Benefits Enrollment/Waiver form.

If you want to receive LTC coverage, you must complete a
Health Benefits Enrollment/Waiver form. Your form must be

There are four parts to Medicare health coverage:  Part A
“hospital services,” Part B “physician’s services,” Part D “prescription
drugs,” and Medicare Advantage Plans, like HMOs and PPOs,
called Part C. A summary of Parts A, B, and D and how they
relate to the AlaskaCare plan follows. (Contact Medicare for
information on Part C). Detailed information about Medicare
Parts A, B, and D is provided in the Medicare and the
AlaskaCare Retiree Health Plan brochure, available online at:
www.doa.alaska.gov/drb/ghlb/retiree/retiree-medicare-
information.html.

Coverage under AlaskaCare becomes supplemental to
Medicare Parts A & B beginning the month that you or your
dependents first become eligible to receive benefits. If you
do not enroll in Medicare Part B, the estimated amount
Medicare would have paid will be deducted from your claims
before processing by AlaskaCare.

Part A—Hospital Services
Almost everyone is eligible for premium-free Part A.

Enrollment in Part A is automatic when you begin
receiving Social Security benefits.

AlaskaCare plan becomes supplemental to Part A.

If you are ineligible for Part A, AlaskaCare remains your
primary carrier and your benefits are not reduced.

Part B—Physician’s Services
Everyone is eligible for Part B, for which you pay a premium.

You must purchase Part B as soon as you become
eligible or you may pay more for the coverage later.

AlaskaCare plan becomes supplemental to Part B.

If you don’t purchase Part B, AlaskaCare will deduct the
estimated amount Medicare would have paid from your
claims before payment.

 AlaskaCare and Medicare

If you want to receive DVA coverage, you must complete a
Health Benefits Enrollment/Waiver form. Your form must be received
by the Division of Retirement and Benefits or postmarked
before your retirement date. If you enroll in the DVA Plan,
your coverage will take effect on the first day of retirement.

PERS Tier II and III* and TRS Tier II** benefit recipients
may enroll in the DVA plan during the annual open enrollment
period if they are enrolling in the AlaskaCare medical plan for
the first time during open enrollment. They may also enroll in
the DVA plan at age 60 when system-paid medical begins. DVA
coverage may be elected during open enrollment only if the
same or greater level of medical coverage is being elected for
the first time during that open enrollment.

DVA — continued

Part D—Prescription Drugs
Part D began January 1, 2006.

Everyone is eligible for Part D, for which you pay a premium.

Additional premium is estimated at $37 per month if you
purchase Part D.

AlaskaCare drug benefit is at least as good as the benefit
offered under Part D.

AlaskaCare plan becomes supplemental if you purchase Part D.

You can keep AlaskaCare coverage and not pay extra if
you later decide to purchase Part D.

Need more information about Medicare enrollment?
Contact the Social Security Administration at their toll free
number—1 (800) 772-1213.

ENCLOSED (if checked)
❒ Retiree Insurance Information Booklet
❒ Long-Term Care Plan Booklet
❒ Health Benefits Enrollment/Waiver Form
❒ Optional Life Insurance Continuation/Waiver Form
❒ Insurance Claim Forms

P.O. Box 110203
Juneau, AK  99811-0203

Telephone:  1-800-821-2251 or in Juneau 465-4460
Fax:  (907) 465-3086       TDD:  (907) 465-2805

www.doa.alaska.gov/drb

Division of Retirement and Benefits

If you are participating in a State-sponsored Optional Life
Insurance Plan, you may elect to continue your coverage by
completing an Optional Life Insurance Continuation/Waiver form.
Your form must be received by the Division of Retirement
and Benefits or postmarked before your retirement date.

The opportunity to continue this coverage will be offered
to you  only once. If your Continuation/Waiver form is not
received or postmarked by the deadline, your right to participate
in the plan will automatically be waived and you will be
unable to enroll later. Details about the coverage are provided
in the Retiree Insurance Information Booklet.

Optional Life Insurance Plan

Long-Term Care — continued
received by the Division of Retirement and Benefits or
postmarked before your retirement date.

LTC coverage will be offered to you only once. If your
Enrollment/Waiver form is not received or postmarked before
your retirement date, your right to participate will automatically
be waived and you will be unable to enroll later.

If you enroll in the LTC Plan, your coverage will take
effect on the first day of retirement.


