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Women's Health and Cancer
Rights Act of 1998 Reminder
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If you are covered under the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan,
you or your dependents may be entitled to certain benefits
under the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998
(WHCRA). For individuals receiving mastectomy-related
benefits, coverage will be provided in a manner determined in
consultation with the attending physician and the patient for:

* All stages of reconstruction of the breast on which the
mastectomy was performed,

* Surgery and reconstruction of the other breast to produce a
symmetrical appearance;

¢ Prostheses; and

* Treatment of physical complications of the mastectomy,
including lymphedema.

Plan limits, deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance apply to
these benefits. For more information on WHCRA benefits, see
the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan document at drb.alaska.
gov/employee/healthplans.html#booklets or contact the Aetna
concierge at (855) 784-8646. ¥
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Important AlaskaCare
Benefit Program Notices

Updated Fall 2023

This newsletter contains important AlaskaCare benefit
program notices of interest to you and your family. Please
share this information with your family members. Some of
the notices in this newsletter are required by law and other
notices contain helpful information. These notices are
updated from time to time and some of the federal notices
are updated each year. Be sure you are reviewing the most
current version of these important notices.
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Notice of Special
Enrollment Rights

IMPORTANT: After the open enrollment period is completed
(or, if you are a new hire, after your initial enrollment election
period is over), generally you will not be allowed to change your
benefit elections or add/delete dependents until next year’s open
enrollment, unless you have a Special Enrollment Event, or a
Qualified Status Change Event as outlined below:

Loss of Other Coverage Event: If you decline enrollment for
yourself or your dependents (including your spouse) because of
other health insurance or group health plan coverage, you may
be able to enroll yourself and your dependents in this plan if
you or your dependents lose eligibility for that other coverage
(or if the employer stops contributing toward your or your
dependents’ other coverage). However, you must request
enrollment within 30 days after your or your dependents’
other coverage ends (or after the employer stops contributing
towards the other coverage).

Marriage, Birth, Adoption Event: If you have a new dependent
as a result of marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for
adoption, you may be able to enroll yourself and your
dependents. However, you must request enrollment within 30
days after the marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for
adoption.

Medicaid/CHIP Event: You and your eligible dependents may
also enroll in this plan if you (or your dependents):

» Have coverage through Medicaid or a State Children’s
Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and you (or your
dependents) lose eligibility for that coverage. However, you
must request enrollment within 60 days after the
Medicaid or CHIP coverage ends.

Become eligible for a premium assistance program through
Medicaid or CHIP. However, you must request enrollment
within 60 days after you (or your dependents) are
determined to be eligible for such assistance.

To request special enrollment or obtain more information,
contact the Division of Retirement and Benefits toll free at
(800) 821-2251 or (907) 465-4460 in Juneau. -

Premium Assistance Under
Medicaid and the Children'’s
Health Insurance Program

If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and
you're eligible for health coverage from your employer, your
state may have a premium assistance program that can help pay
for coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP
programs. If you or your children aren’t eligible for Medicaid or
CHIP, you won't be eligible for these premium assistance
programs but you may be able to buy individual insurance
coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace. For more
information, visit healthcare.gov.

If you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or
CHIP and you live in a State listed below, contact your State
Medicaid or CHIP office to find out if premium assistance is
available.

If you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in
Medicaid or CHIP, and you think you or any of your dependents
might be eligible for either of these programs, contact your State
Medicaid or CHIP office or dial 1-877-KIDS NOW or
insurekidsnow.gov to find out how to apply. If you qualify, ask
your state if it has a program that might help you pay the
premiums for an employer-sponsored plan.

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance
under Medicaid or CHIP, as well as eligible under your
employer plan, your employer must allow you to enroll in your
employer plan if you aren'’t already enrolled. This is called a
“special enrollment” opportunity, and you must request
coverage within 60 days of being determined eligible for
premium assistance. If you have questions about enrolling in
your employer plan, contact the Department of Labor at
askebsa.dol.gov or call 1-866-444-EBSA (3272).

If you live in one of the following states, you may be eligible
for assistance paying your employer health plan premiums.
The following list of states is current as of January 31, 2023.
Contact your State for more information on eligibility.

Continued on the next page

% Open Enrollment is Coming!
. For the AlaskaCare Employee Plan

Open enrollment for the upcoming benefit year is November 1 - 22, 2023. Enrollment elections
become effective January 1, 2024. In late October, you will receive an Open Enrollment notice
with instructions on accessing everything you need to review your benefits and enroll for the
coming benefit year. During Open Enrollment, you will be able to review your current benefit
elections on the Division of Retirement and Benefits website and review any new plan offerings
for 2024. To make your benefit elections for 2023, visit AlaskaCare.gov/OpenEnrollment.
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Premium Assistance Under Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance

Program

Continued from the previous page

ALABAMA - Medicaid NEW HAMPSHIRE - Medicaid

myalhipp.com | (855) 692-5447 dhhs.nh.gov/oii/hipp.htm | (603) 271-5218 | (800) 852-3345, ext 5218
ALASKA - Medicaid NEBRASKA - Medicaid

myakhipp.com | (866) 251-4861 | CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov | (855) 632-7633 | Lincoln: (402) 473-7000 |
dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/medicaid/default.aspx Omaha: (402) 595-1178

ARKANSAS - Medicaid NEVADA - Medicaid

myarhipp.com | (855) 692-7447 dhcfp.nv.gov | (800) 992-0900

CALIFORNIA - Medicaid NEW JERSEY - Medicaid and CHIP

dhcs.ca.gov/hipp | (916) 445-8322 | Fax: (916) 440-5676 | hipp@dhcs.ca.gov state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid | (609) 631-2392

oo CHIP: njfamilycare.org/index.html | (800) 701-0710
COLORADO - Medicaid and CHP+

healthfirstcolorado.com | (800) 221-3943, State Relay 711 NEW YORK - Medicaid

CHP+: colorado.gov/pacific/hcpfichild-health-plan-plus | (800) 359-1991, health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid | (800) 541-2831

State Relay 711 NORTH CAROLINA - Medicaid
colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/health-insurance-buy-program | (855) 692-6442 medicaid.ncdhhs.gov | (919) 855-4100

FLORIDA - Medicaid NORTH DAKOTA - Medicaid
flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/index.html | nd.govidhs/services/medicalservimedicaid | (844) 854-4825

(877) 357-3268

GEORGIA - Medicaid
HIPP: medicaid.georgia.gov/health-insurance-premium-payment-program-

OKLAHOMA - Medicaid and CHIP
oklahoma.gov/ohca/insureoklahoma.html | (888) 365-3742

hipp | (678) 564-1162, Press 1 | CHIPRA: medicaid.georgia.gov/programs/ OREGON - Medicaid
third-party-liability/childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization- healthcare.oregon.gov | (800) 699-9075

act-2009-chipra | (678) 564-1162, Press 2 PENNSYLVANIA - Medicaid

INDIANA - Medicaid dhs.pa.gov/Services/Assistance/Pages/HIPP-Program.aspx | (800) 692-7462
Low-Income Adults 19-64: in.gov/fssa/hip | (877) 438-4479 RHODE ISLAND - Medicaid and CHIP

All Others: in.gov/medicaid | (800) 457-4584 eohhs.ri.gov | (855) 697—4347, (401) 462-0311

IOWA - Medicaid and CHIP (Hawki) SOUTH CAROLINA - Medicaid

dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members | (800) 338-8366 scdhhs.gov | (888) 549-0820

Hawki: dhs.iowa.gov/Hawki | (800) 257-8563

HIPP: dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members/medicaid-a-to-z/hipp | (888) 346-9562 SOUTH DAKOTA - Medicaid

L dss.sd.gov | (888) 828-0059
KANSAS - Medicaid

kancare.ks.gov | (800) 792-4884 TEXAS - Medicaid
TENTIETO < e gethipptexas.com | (800) 440-0493
- Medicai

chfs.ky.goviagencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx | (855) 459-6328 UTAH - Medicaid and CHIP

KIHIPP.PROGRAM®@ky.gov | KCHIP: kidshealth.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx medicaid.utah.gov | CHIP: health.utah.gov/chip | (877) 543-7669
(877) 524-4718 | chfs.ky.gov VERMONT - Medicaid

LOUISIANA - Medicaid greenmountaincare.org | (800) 250-8427

medicaid.la.gov | (888) 342-6207 | Idh.la.gov/lahipp | (855) 618-5488 VIRGINIA - Medicaid and CHIP

MAINE - Medicaid coverva.org/en/famis-select | coverva.org/en/hipp
maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/applications-forms | (800) 442-6003 | TTY: Maine relay 711 (800) 432-5924 | CHIP: (800) 432-5924

(800) 977-6740 | TTY: Maine relay 711 WASHINGTON - Medicaid

MASSACHUSETTS - Medicaid and CHIP hca.wa.gov | (800) 562-3022

mass.gov/masshealth/pa | (800) 862-4840 WEST VIRGINIA - Medicaid and CHIP

MINNESOTA - Medicaid dhhr.wv.gov/bms | mywvhipp.com

mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care- (304) 558-1700 | CHIP: (855) 699- 8447

programs/programs-and-services/other-insurance.jsp | (800) 657-3739 WISCONSIN - Medicaid and CHIP

MISSOURI - Medicaid dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/p-10095.htm | (800) 362-3002
dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm | (573) 751-2005 WYOMING - Medicaid

MONTANA - Medicaid health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-and-eligibility

dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP | (800) 694-3084 (800) 251-1269

To see if any other states have added a premium assistance program since January 31, 2023, or for more information on special
enrollment rights, contact either:

e U.S. Department of Labor * U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Employee Benefits Security Administration Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
dol.gov/agencies/ebsa cms.hhs.gov
(866) 444-EBSA (3272) (877) 267-2323, Menu Option 4, Ext. 61565 ¥
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Your Rights and Protections Against Surprise Medical Bills

When you get emergency care or are treated by an out-of-network provider at a network
hospital or ambulatory surgical center, you are protected from surprise billing or balance billing.

What is “balance billing” (sometimes called
“surprise billing”)?

When you see a doctor or other health care provider, you may
owe certain out-of-pocket costs, such as a copayment,
coinsurance, and/or a deductible. You may have other costs or
have to pay the entire bill if you see a provider or visit a health
care facility that isn’t in your health plan’s network.

“Out-of-network” describes providers and facilities that haven't
signed a contract with your health plan. Out-of-network
providers may be permitted to bill you for the difference
between what your plan agreed to pay, and the full amount
charged for a service. This is called “balance billing.” This
amount is likely more than network costs for the same service
and might not count toward your annual out-of-pocket limit.

“Surprise billing” is an unexpected balance bill. This can
happen when you can’t control who is involved in your care—
like when you have an emergency or when you schedule a visit
at a network facility but are unexpectedly treated by an out-of-
network provider.

You are protected from balance billing for:

1. Emergency Care: 1f you have an emergency medical
condition and get emergency services from an out-of-
network provider or facility, the most the provider or
facility may bill you is your plan’s network cost-sharing
amount (such as copayments and coinsurance). You can’t
be balance billed for these emergency services. This
includes services you may get after you're in stable
condition unless you give written consent and give up
your protections not to be balanced billed for these
post-stabilization services.

2. Certain services at a network hospital or ambulatory
surgical center: When you get services from a network
hospital or ambulatory surgical center, certain providers
there may be out-of-network. These providers are not
allowed to send you a balance bill and they may not ask
you to surrender your protection against being balance

We Value Your Feedback!

billed. If you receive other services at these network
facilities, other types of out-of-network providers cannot
send you a balance bill unless you have given them
written consent ahead of time waiving your protections.

You're never required to surrender your protections from
balance billing. You also aren’t required to get care out-of-
network. You can choose a provider or facility in the network.

When balance billing isn’t allowed, you also have
the following protections:

a. You are only responsible for paying your share of the cost
(like the copayments, coinsurance, and deductibles that you
would pay if the provider or facility was in-network). The
medical plan will pay out-of-network providers and facilities
directly.

b. The plan generally must:

» Cover emergency services without requiring you to get
approval for services in advance (prior authorization or
precertification).

* Cover emergency services by out-of-network providers.

* Base what you owe the provider or facility (cost-sharing)
on what it would pay a network provider or facility and
show that amount in your explanation of benefits.

+ Count any amount you pay for emergency services or
out-of-network services toward your deductible and
out-of-pocket limit.

If you believe you've been wrongly billed and would like to
submit a complaint regarding potential violations of your
balance billing protections, you may contact the federal
Department of Health and Human Services:

* For information and complaints: (800) 985-3059

* cms.gov/nosurprises/consumers ¥

As an AlaskaCare member, your input is valued and important. Below, please see a list of ways to contact us with your feedback.
Also, a full list of AlaskaCare health plan and partner contact information can be found on our website at Alaska.gov/drb/

alaskaCare/contact.html.

AlaskaCare—Plan Administrator
e Toll Free: (800) 821-2251
e InJuneau: (907) 465-4460
» TDD: (907) 465-2805
e Fax: (907) 465-3086

*  Email: doa.drb.benefits@alaska.gov

Send us a letter Come visit us

State of Alaska State Office Building
Division of Retirement 6th Floor
and Benefits 333 Willoughby Avenue

P.O. Box 110203
Juneau, AK 99811-0203

Juneau, AK 99801
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COBRA Coverage Reminder

In compliance with a federal law referred to as COBRA
Continuation Coverage, this plan offers AlaskaCare members
and their covered dependents (known as qualified beneficiaries)
the opportunity to elect temporary continuation of their group
health coverage when that coverage would otherwise end
because of certain events (called qualifying events).

Qualified beneficiaries are entitled to elect COBRA when
certain events occur, and, because of the event, coverage of that
qualified beneficiary ends (together, the event and the loss of
coverage are called a qualifying event). Qualified beneficiaries
who elect COBRA Continuation Coverage must pay for it at
their own expense. Current COBRA rates are available at
drb.alaska.gov/employee/cobra.html#cost.

Qualifying events may include termination of employment,
reduction in hours of work making the employee ineligible for
coverage, death of the employee, divorce or legal separation, or a
child ceasing to be an eligible dependent child under the terms
of the plan, if a loss of coverage results.

In addition to considering COBRA to continue coverage, there
may be other coverage options for you and your family. You may
want to look for coverage through the Health Care Marketplace
at healthcare.gov. In the Marketplace, you could be eligible for a
tax credit that lowers your monthly premiums for Marketplace
coverage, and you can see what your premium, deductibles, and
out-of-pocket costs will be before you decide to enroll. Being
eligible for COBRA does not limit your eligibility for
Marketplace coverage or for the tax credit. Additionally, you
may qualify for a special enrollment opportunity for another
group health plan for which you are eligible (such as a spouse’s
plan) if you request enrollment within 30 days, even if the plan
generally does not accept late enrollees. The maximum period
of COBRA coverage is usually either 18 months or 36 months,
depending on which qualifying event occurred.

To have the chance to elect COBRA coverage after a divorce or
legal separation, or a child ceasing to be a dependent under the
plan, you and/or a family member must inform the plan in
writing of that event no later than 60 days after that event
occurs.

Notices must be sent to:

Division of Retirement and Benefits
P.O. Box 110203
Juneau, AK 99811-0203 ¥

Patient Protection Rights of the Affordable Care Act

Designation of a Primary Care Provider (PCP):

The medical plans offered by the State of Alaska do not require
the selection or designation of a primary care provider (PCP).
You have the ability to visit any in-network (or non-network)
health care provider; however, payment by the Plan may be less
for the use of a non-network provider. To locate an in-network
provider, visit Aetna’s provider directory, DocFind®, at
aetna.com/docfind/custom/alaskacare.

Direct Access to OB/GYN Providers:

You do not need prior authorization (pre-approval) from the

State of Alaska or from any other person (including a primary
care provider) in order to obtain access to obstetrical or
gynecological (OB/GYN) care from an in-network health care
professional who specializes in obstetrics or gynecology. The
health care professional, however, may be required to comply
with certain procedures, including obtaining prior
authorization for certain services, following a pre-approved
treatment plan, or procedures for making referrals. For a list of
participating health care professionals who specialize in
obstetrics or gynecology, contact the Aetna’s Concierge at
(855) 784-8646. ¥
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Notice of HIPAA Privacy Practices

AlaskaCare Health Plans

This Notice of Privacy Practices (“Notice”) describes how
medical information about you may be used and
disclosed and how you can get access to this information.

Please review it carefully.

This Notice is required by law.

The AlaskaCare self-funded group health plan, including the
State of Alaska Active Employee Plan, the Defined Benefit (DB)
Retiree Plan, and the Defined Contribution (DCR) Retiree Plan
(which may include health, dental, vision, employee assistance,
wellness, medical flexible spending accounts, COBRA
administration, or other coverage affecting any structure of the
body as those benefits may be offered from time to time)
(hereafter referred to as the “Plan”), is required by law to take
reasonable steps to maintain the privacy of your personally
identifiable health information (called Protected Health
Information or PHI) and to inform you about the Plan’s legal
duties and privacy practices with respect to Protected Health
Information including;

* Your rights to privacy with respect to your PHI,
» The Plan’s uses and disclosures of PHI,
* The Plan’s duties with respect to your PHI,

* Your right to file a complaint with the Plan and with the
Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS),

* The person or office you should contact for further
information about the Plan’s privacy practices, and

¢ The Plan’s duty to notify affected individuals following a
breach of unsecured Protected Health Information.

PHI use and disclosure by the Plan is regulated by the Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). You may
find these rules in Section 45 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, Parts 160 and 164. The regulations will supersede
this Notice if there is any discrepancy between the information
in this Notice and the regulations. The Plan will abide by the
terms of the Notice currently in effect. The Plan reserves the
right to change the terms of this Notice and to make the new
Notice provisions effective for all PHI it maintains.

You may receive a Privacy Notice from a variety of the insured
group health benefit plans offered by the State of Alaska. Each
of these notices will describe your rights as it pertains to that
plan and in compliance with HIPAA. This Privacy Notice,
however, pertains to your PHI related to the Plan and outside
companies contracted to help administer Plan benefits, called
“Business Associates.”

Effective Date

The effective date of this Notice is January 1, 2024, and this
notice replaces notices previously distributed to you.

Privacy Officer

The Plan has designated a Privacy Officer to oversee the
administration of privacy by the Plan and to receive complaints.
The Privacy Officer may be contacted at:

State of Alaska

Division of Retirement and Benefits
P.O. Box 110203

Juneau, AK 99811-0203

Phone: (907) 465-4460
Email: DRB.HIPAA.Team®@alaska.gov

Your Protected Health Information

The term Protected Health Information (PHI) includes all
information related to your past, present or future health
condition(s) (or that relates to the payment for those
conditions(s)) that individually identifies you or could
reasonably be used to identify you and is transferred to another
entity or maintained by the Plan in oral, written, electronic, or
any other form.

PHI does not include health information contained in
employment records held by the State of Alaska in its role as an
employer, including but not limited to health information on
disability benefits, life insurance, accidental death and
dismemberment insurance, sick leave, Family or Medical Leave
(FMLA), workers’ compensation, drug testing, etc.

Your Rights to privacy with respect to your PHI

When it comes to your health information, you have certain
rights. This section explains your rights and some of our
responsibilities to help you.

Get a copy of health and claims records

You have the right to inspect and obtain a copy (in hard copy or
electronic form) of your PHI (except psychotherapy notes and
information compiled in reasonable contemplation of an
administrative action or proceeding) contained in a
“Designated Record Set,” for as long as the Plan maintains the
PHI

A Designated Record Set includes your medical records and
billing records that are maintained by or for the Plan. Records
include enrollment, payment, billing, claims adjudication and
case or medical management record systems maintained, or
other information used by or for the Plan to make decisions
about you.

You or your personal representative will be required to complete
a form to request access to the PHI in your Designated Record
Set. Requests for access to your PHI should be made to the
Plan’s Privacy Officer at their address listed on the first page of
this Notice. The Plan reserves the right to charge a reasonable
cost-based fee for creating or copying the PHI or preparing a
summary of your PHL
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Notice of HIPAA Privacy Practices

AlaskaCare Health Plans
You Have the Right to Amend Your PHI

If you think your health or claims records are incorrect or
incomplete, you or your Personal Representative have the right
to request that the Plan amend the information for as long as
the information is kept by or for the Plan. You should make
your request to amend PHI to the Privacy Officer at their
address listed on the first page of this Notice. We have the right
to deny your request, but we will tell you why in writing within
60 days.

You Have the Right to Request that PHI be
Transmitted to You Confidentially

The Plan will permit and accommodate your reasonable request
to have PHI sent to you by alternative means or to an alternative
location (such as mailing PHI to a different address or allowing
you to personally pick up the PHI that would otherwise be
mailed), if you provide a written request to the Plan that the
disclosure of PHI to your usual location could endanger you. If
you believe you have this situation, you should contact the
Plan’s Privacy Officer to discuss your request for confidential
PHI transmission.

Ask us to limit what we use or share
*  You May Request Restrictions on PHI Uses and Disclosures

*  You may request the Plan to restrict the uses and
disclosures of your PHI:

e To carry out treatment, payment, or health care
operations; or

e To family members, relatives, friends, or other persons
identified by you who are involved in your care.

The Plan, however, is not required to agree to your request if the
Plan Administrator or Privacy Officer determines it to be
unreasonable--for example, if it would interfere with the Plan’s
ability to pay a claim.

You Have the Right to Receive an Accounting of
the Plan’s PHI Disclosures

At your request, the Plan will also provide you with an
accounting of disclosures by the Plan of your PHI during the six
years (or shorter period if requested) before the date of your
request. The Plan will not provide you with an accounting of
disclosures related to treatment, payment, or health care
operations, or disclosures made to you or authorized by you in
writing. If you request more than one accounting within a
12-month period, the Plan will charge a reasonable, cost-based
fee for each subsequent accounting.

You Have the Right to Receive a Paper or
Electronic Copy of This Notice Upon Request

To obtain a paper or electronic copy of this Notice, contact the
Plan’s Privacy Officer at their address listed on the first page of
this Notice.

Choose someone to act for you

You have the right to designate or one or more persons to act on
your behalf as your Personal Representative. Your Personal
Representative can exercise your rights under the Plan and
make choices about your health information. The Plan may
require your Personal Representative to provide documentation
of their authority to act on your behalf before they are given
access to your PHI or be allowed to take any action for you.

Under this Plan, proof of such authority will include a
completed and signed Authorization for the Use and/or
Disclosure of Protected Health Information form, drb.alaska.
gov/docs/forms/ben043.pdf.

This Plan will NOT automatically recognize your
Spouse as your Personal Representative and vice versa.

In order for your legal Spouse to be your Personal
Representative, you must complete a form, “Authorization
for the Use and/or Disclosure of Protected Health
Information” and submit that form to the Alaska Division of
Retirement and Benefits (DRB). The form is available on the
DRB Webpage, drb.alaska.gov/docs/forms/ben043.pdf.

You may also present the DRB with a copy of a notarized
Health Care Power of Attorney allowing one spouse to
make decisions about the other spouse’s health care if they
are unable to do so, or a document demonstrating you are
the court-appointed conservator or guardian for your
spouse.

If you have appointed your Spouse as your Personal
Representative, you can indicate the date the authorization
expires. If no expiration date is listed, this authorization
will expire two (2) years from the date of signature.

Your Right to File a Complaint

If you believe that your privacy rights have been violated,
you may file a complaint with the Plan in care of the Plan’s
Privacy Officer, at the address listed at the beginning of this
Notice. Neither your employer nor the Plan will retaliate against
you for filing a complaint.

You may also file a complaint with the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services Office for Civil Rights by sending a
letter to

* 200 Independence Avenue, SW.,
Washington, D.C. 20201

» calling (877) 696-6775,
*  or visiting hhs.gov/hipaa/filing-a-complaint/index.html.
Your Choices

For certain health information, you can tell us your choices
about what we share. If you have a clear preference for how we
share your information in the situations described below, talk to
us.

AlaskaCare.gov 7



Notice of HIPAA Privacy Practices

AlaskaCare Health Plans

Tell us what you want us to do, and we will follow your
instructions.

In these cases, you have both the right and choice to tell us to:

* Share information with your family, close friends, or others
involved in payment for your care

» Share information in a disaster relief situation

If you are not able to tell us your preference, for example if you are
unconscious, we may go ahead and share your information if we believe
it is in your best interest. We may also share your information when
needed to lessen a serious and imminent threat to health or safety.

In these cases, we never share your information unless you give
us written permission:

* Marketing purposes
¢ Sale of your information
The Plan’s Uses and Disclosures

How do we typically use or share your health information?
We typically use or share your health information in the
following ways.

Help manage the health care treatment you receive

We can use your health information and share it with
professionals who are treating you.

Example: A doctor sends us information about your diagnosis
and treatment plan so we can arrange additional services.

Pay for your health services

We can use and disclose your health information as we pay for
your health services.

Administer your plan

We can use and disclose your information to run our
organization and contact you when necessary. We may disclose
your health information to your health plan sponsor for plan
administration.

Any other Plan uses, and disclosures not described in this
Notice will be made only if you provide the Plan with written
authorization, subject to your right to revoke your
authorization, and information used and disclosed will be made
in compliance with the minimum necessary standards of the
privacy regulations.

How else can we use or share your health
information?

We are allowed or required to share your information in
other ways—usually in ways that contribute to the public
good, such as public health and research. We have to meet
many conditions in the law before we can share your
information for these purposes. For more information,
please visit hhs.gov/oct/privacy/hipaa/understanding/
consumers/index.html.

Help with public health and safety issues

We can share health information about you for certain
situations such as:

* Preventing disease

¢ Helping with product recalls

* Reporting adverse reactions to medications

* Reporting suspected abuse, neglect, or domestic violence

* Preventing or reducing a serious threat to anyone’s health or
safety

Definitions and Examples of Treatment, Payment, and Health Care Operations

Help manage
the health care
treatment you
receive

can confer regarding your treatment plan.

Treatment is the provision, coordination, or management of health care and related services. It also
includes but is not limited to coordination of benefits with a third party and consultations and referrals
between one or more of your health care providers.

For example: The Plan discloses to a treating specialist the name of your treating primary care physician so the two

Pay for your
health services
and appropriateness of care.

paid by the Plan.

Payment includes but is not limited to making payment for the provision of health care, determination of
eligibility, claims management, and utilization review activities such as the assessment of medical necessity

For example: The Plan tells your doctor whether you are eligible for coverage or what percentage of the bill will be

plan

Administer your | Administering your plan includes but is not limited to quality assessment and improvement, patient safety
activities, business planning and development, reviewing competence or qualifications of health care
professionals, underwriting, enrollment, premium rating, and other insurance activities relating to creating
or renewing insurance contracts. It also includes disease management, case management, conducting or
arranging for medical review, legal services, and auditing functions including fraud and abuse compliance
programs and general administrative activities.

For example: The Plan uses information about your medical claims to refer you to a health care management
program, to project future benefit costs, or to audit the accuracy of its claims processing functions.
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Do research

In limited situations, we may use or share your information for
health research; however, usually we will need to get your
authorization.

Comply with the law

We will share information about you if state or federal laws
require it, including with the Department of Health and Human
Services if it wants to see that we're complying with federal
privacy law.

Respond to organ and tissue donation requests and work
with a coroner, medical examiner, or funeral director
* We can share health information about you with organ

procurement organizations.

e We can share health information with a coroner, medical
examiner, or funeral director, as necessary for them to carry
out their duties, when an individual dies.

Address workers’ compensation, law enforcement, and other
government requests

We can use or share health information about you in certain
limited circumstances:

* For workers’ compensation claims

* For law enforcement purposes or with a law enforcement
official

» With health oversight agencies for activities authorized by
law

* For special government functions such as military, national
security, and presidential protective services

Respond to lawsuits and legal actions

We can share health information about you in response to a
court or administrative order, subpoena, discovery request, or
other lawful process.

The Plan’s Duties

The Plan is required by law to maintain the privacy of your PHI
and to provide you and your eligible dependents with notice of
its legal duties and privacy practices. The Plan is required to
comply with the terms of this Notice. However, the Plan
reserves the right to change its privacy practices and the terms
of this Notice and to apply the changes to any PHI maintained
by the Plan.

Notice Distribution

The Notice will be provided to each person when he or she
initially enrolls for benefits in the Plan (the Notice is provided
in the Plan’s New Enrollment materials). The Notice is also
available on the State of Alaska website. The Notice will also be
provided upon request. Once every three years the Plan will
notify the individuals then covered by the Plan where to obtain
a copy of the Notice. The Plan will satisfy the requirements of
the HIPAA regulation by providing this Notice to the named
insured (covered employee) of the Plan; however, you are
encouraged to share this Notice with other family members
covered under the Plan.

Notice Revisions

If a privacy practice of the Plan is changed affecting this Notice,
a revised version of this Notice will be provided to you and all
participants covered by the Plan at the time of the change. Any
revised version of the Notice will be distributed within 60 days
of the effective date of a material change to the uses and
disclosures of PHI, your individual rights, the duties of the
Plan, or other privacy practices stated in this Notice.

The Plan will also post the revised notice on its website by its
effective date of the material change. We will also provide the
revised notice, or information about the material change and
how to obtain the revised notice, in our next annual mailing to
individuals covered by the Plan.

Breach Notification

If a breach of your unsecured PHI occurs, the Plan will notify

you. ¥
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Important Notice for AlaskaCare Employees About
Prescription Drug Coverage and Medicare

This notice has information regarding your current prescription
drug coverage under the AlaskaCare Health Plan and the
options available to you under Medicare’s prescription drug
coverage. This information can help you decide if joining a
Medicare drug plan is right for you. If you are considering
joining, compare your current AlaskaCare Health Plan coverage,
including which drugs are covered and at what cost, with the
coverage and costs of the plans offering Medicare prescription
drug coverage in your area. If you would like assistance with
choosing the right prescription drug coverage, please see the
end of this notice.

Medicare prescription drug coverage is available to Medicare
eligible people through Medicare Prescription Drugs Plans
(PDPs) and Medicare Advantage Plans (like an HMO or PPO)
that offer prescription drug coverage. All Medicare drug plans
provide a standard level of coverage set by Medicare. Some other
plans may also offer more coverage for a higher monthly premium.

The State of Alaska has determined that the prescription
drug coverage offered by the AlaskaCare Health Plan is
considered “Creditable Coverage.” Creditable Coverage means
that the value of the Plan’s prescription drug benefit is, on
average for all plan participants, expected to pay out as
much as standard Medicare prescription drug coverage pays.
Because the plan options noted above are Creditable Coverage,
you can elect or keep prescription drug coverage under the
plan and not pay a higher premium (a penalty) if you later
decide to enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan.

When Can You Join a Medicare Drug Plan?

You can join a Medicare drug plan when you first become
eligible for Medicare or during Medicare’s annual election
period (from October 15 to December 7). You may also be
eligible for a two (2) month Special Enrollment Period (SEP) to
join a Medicare drug plan in some special circumstances.

What Happens to Your Current Coverage if You
Decide to Join a Medicare Drug Plan?

You can elect to keep your current prescription drug coverage
with the AlaskaCare Plan, and you do not have to enroll in a
separate Medicare prescription drug plan. If you decide to join a
separate Medicare drug plan, your AlaskaCare Health Plan
coverage will be affected. The AlaskaCare Enhanced Group
Waiver Plan (EGWP) is a group Medicare Part D (Drug) plan.
You cannot be enrolled in more than one EGWP at a time. If
you enroll in a separate Medicare drug plan, we will disenroll
you from the AlaskaCare EGWP but you will continue to
receive the standard AlaskaCare pharmacy benefits.

When will You Pay a Higher Premium (Penalty) to
Join a Medicare Drug Plan?

If you lose or drop your AlaskaCare Health Plan coverage and
don’t join a Medicare drug plan within 63 continuous days after
your current coverage ends, you may pay a higher premium (a
penalty) to join a Medicare drug plan later.

If you go 63 continuous days or longer without creditable
prescription drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up
by at least 1% of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per
month for every month that you did not have Medicare
prescription drug coverage or a creditable prescription drug
plan. For example, if you go 19 months without creditable
coverage, your premium will always be at least 19% higher than
the Medicare base beneficiary premium. You may have to pay
this higher premium (a penalty) as long as you have Medicare
prescription drug coverage. In addition, if you go 63 days or
longer without prescription drug coverage you may have to wait
until the following October to enroll for Medicare prescription
drug coverage.

For more information about this notice contact the Alaska
Medicare Information Office at (800) 478-6065 or in
Anchorage at (907) 269-3680. For more information about
your AlaskaCare Prescription Drug Coverage, contact Optum
Rx at (855) 409-6999.

NOTE: This notice will be sent to you each year, before the next
available period in which you can join a Medicare drug plan,
and if there are any changes to your AlaskaCare Health Plan
prescription drug coverage. You also may request a copy of this
notice at any time.

For More Information About Your Options Under
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage

For more detailed information about Medicare plans that offer
prescription drug coverage, please see the “Medicare & You”
handbook. Every year Medicare will send a copy of the
handbook through the mail. Medicare may also contact you
directly regarding their drug plans. For more information about
Medicare prescription drug coverage please see the following:

* Visit medicare.gov.

e Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see
the inside back cover of your copy of the “Medicare & You”
handbook for their telephone number) for personalized help.

e Call (800) MEDICARE (1-800 -633-4227). TTY users
should call (877) 486-2048.

If you have limited income and resources, assistance in paying
for Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. For
information about payment assistance, please visit Social
Security on the web at socialsecurity.gov, or call at

(800) 772-1213. TTY users should call (800) 325-0778.

Remember: Keep this Creditable Coverage notice. If you
decide to join one of the Medicare drug plans, you may be
required to provide a copy of this notice in order to show
whether you have maintained creditable coverage and,
therefore, whether you are required to pay a higher
premium (a penalty). ¥
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Important Reminder—Provide the Plan with the Taxpayer
ldentification Number or Social Security Number of
Each Enrollee in a Health Plan

Employers are required by law to collect the taxpayer
identification number (TIN) or social security number (SSN) of
each medical plan participant and include that number on
reports that will be provided to the IRS each year. Employers
are required to make at least two consecutive attempts to gather
missing TINs/SSN.

If a dependent does not yet have a social security number,
please visit ssa.gov/forms/ss-5.pdf, complete the form to request
an SSN. Applying for a social security number is FREE.

The SSN will also be used to help fulfill mandatory reporting
requirements to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS)
for the purposes of permitting Medicare to coordinate benefits
for individuals enrolled in both an employer-sponsored medical
plan and Medicare.

If you have not yet provided the social security number (or
other TIN) for each of your dependents that you have enrolled
in the health plan, please contact the Division of Retirement
and Benefits toll free at (800) 821-2251 or (907) 465-4460 in
Juneau. *

Availability of Summary of Benefits and Coverage

Document(s)

The health benefits that are available to you from the
AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan represent a
significant component of your compensation package.
They also provide important protection for you and
your family in the case of illness or injury. In
accordance with law, our employee plan provides you
with Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC)
documents to help you understand and compare
medical plan benefits. Each SBC document
summarizes and compares essential information
including what is covered, what isn’t, what you need
to pay for diverse benefits, and where to get answers
to questions. The SBC documents are updated when
there is a change to the benefits information. To get a

free copy of the most current SBC documents for the AlaskaCare medical plan options and the Uniform Glossary that defines many
terms in the SBC, go to AlaskaCare.gov, or for a paper copy, contact the Division of Retirement and Benefits toll free at

(800) 821-2251 or (907) 465-4460 in Juneau. -

Newborns' and Mothers' Health Protection Act Notice

Under federal law, group health plans like the AlaskaCare
Employee Health Plan, generally may not restrict benefits for
any hospital stay in connection with childbirth for the mother
or the newborn child to less than 48 hours following a vaginal
delivery, or less than 96 hours following a cesarean section.
However, the Plan may pay for a shorter stay if the attending
physician (e.g., physician or health care practitioner), after
consultation, discharges the mother or newborn earlier.

Also, under federal law, plans may not set the level of benefits or
out-of-pocket costs so that any later portion of the 48-hour (or
96-hour) stay is treated in a manner less favorable to the mother
or newborn than any earlier portion of the stay.

In addition, the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan may not,
under federal law, require that a physician or other health care
practitioner obtain authorization for prescribing a length of stay
of up to 48 hours (or 96 hours). However, to use certain
providers or facilities or to reduce your out-of-pocket costs, you
may be required to obtain pre-certification. For information on
pre-certification for a length of stay longer than 48 hours for
vaginal birth or 96 hours for cesarean section, contact the
Aetna Concierge at (855) 784-8646 to pre-certify the extended
stay. You may also contact the Aetna concierge if you have
questions about this notice.

Please review the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan document
for additional information. ¥
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Health Benefit Contact Information

Division of Retirement and Benefits
Member Education Center: (907) 465-4460 | Toll Free: (800) 821-2251

Medical Benefits: Aetna Concierge
Member Services: (855) 784-8646

Dental Benefits: Moda/Delta Dental
Member Services: (855) 718-1768

Pharmacy Benefits: OptumRx
Member Services: (855) 409-6999
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