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This newsletter contains 
important AlaskaCare benefit 
program notices of interest to 
you and your family. Please 
share this information with 
your family members. Some of 
the notices in this newsletter 
are required by law and other 
notices contain helpful 
information. These notices are 
updated from time to time and 
some of the federal notices are 
updated each year. Be sure you 
are reviewing the most current 
version of these important 
notices. 
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For the Visually Impaired
Visit our ADA-compliant website to read 
these newsbreaks online, with features 
for those with visual challenges.   
drb.alaska.gov/news/#newsletters 
 
For a high-contrast version of the 
website, click on the “eyeball” icon  
( ) in the main menu bar at the top 

of the page. If you are visually impaired 
and using a screen reader, head to 
our website and press the TAB button. 

	• TAB = Next

	• SHIFT = Back

	• ENTER = Select

	• SPACEBAR = Expand

Newborns’ and Mothers’ Health 
Protection Act Notice
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/help/legal.
html#newbornsmothers.
Under federal law, group health plans like the AlaskaCare Employee Health 
Plan, generally may not restrict benefits for any hospital stay in connection 
with childbirth for the mother or the newborn child to less than 48 hours 
following a vaginal delivery, or less than 96 hours following a cesarean section. 
However, the Plan may pay for a shorter stay if the attending physician  
						      Continued on page 12
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Children’s Health Insurance Program
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/
help/legal.html#chip.

Premium Assistance Under Medicaid and the 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and 
you’re eligible for health coverage from your employer, your 
state may have a premium assistance program that can help 
pay for coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP 

programs. If you or your children aren’t eligible for 
Medicaid or CHIP, you won’t be eligible for these 

premium assistance programs but you may be able 
to buy individual insurance coverage through 
the Health Insurance Marketplace. For more 
information, visit healthcare.gov.

If you or your dependents are already enrolled 
in Medicaid or CHIP and you live in a State 
listed below, contact your State Medicaid or CHIP 

office to find out if premium assistance is available.

If you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in 
Medicaid or CHIP, and you think you or any of your 
dependents might be eligible for either of these programs, 
contact your State Medicaid or CHIP office or dial 1-877-KIDS 
NOW or insurekidsnow.gov to find out how to apply. If you 
qualify, ask your state if it has a program that might help you 
pay the premiums for an employer-sponsored plan.

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance 
under Medicaid or CHIP, as well as eligible under your 
employer plan, your employer must allow you to enroll in 
your employer plan if you aren’t already enrolled. This is 
called a “special enrollment” opportunity, and you must 
request coverage within 60 days of being determined 
eligible for premium assistance. If you have questions about 
enrolling in your employer plan, contact the Department of 
Labor at askebsa.dol.gov or call 1-866-444-EBSA.

If you live in one of the states on the following page, you may 
be eligible for assistance paying your employer health plan 
premiums. The following list of states is current as of July 31, 
2024. Contact your State for more information on eligibility.

COBRA Coverage Reminder
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/
help/legal.html#cobra.

In compliance with a federal law referred to as COBRA 
Continuation Coverage, this plan offers AlaskaCare members 
and their covered 
dependents (known as 
qualified beneficiaries) 
the opportunity to 
elect temporary 
continuation of their 
group health coverage when that coverage would otherwise 
end because of certain events (called qualifying events).

Qualified beneficiaries are entitled to elect COBRA when 
certain events occur, and, because of the event, coverage of 
that qualified beneficiary ends (together, the event and the 
loss of coverage are called a qualifying event). Qualified 
beneficiaries who elect COBRA Continuation Coverage must 
pay for it at their own expense. 

Qualifying events may include termination of employment, 
reduction in hours of work making the employee ineligible 
for coverage, death of the employee, divorce or legal 
separation, or a child ceasing to be an eligible dependent 
child under the terms of the plan, if a loss of coverage results.

In addition to considering COBRA to continue coverage, there 
may be other coverage options for you and your family. You 

may want to look for coverage through the Health Care 
Marketplace at healthcare.gov. In the Marketplace, you could 
be eligible for a tax credit that lowers your monthly premiums 
for Marketplace coverage, and you can see what your 

premium, deductibles, 
and out-of-pocket costs 
will be before you decide 
to enroll. Being eligible 
for COBRA does not 
limit your eligibility for 
Marketplace coverage or 

for the tax credit. Additionally, you may qualify for a special 
enrollment opportunity for another group health plan for 
which you are eligible (such as a spouse’s plan) if you request 
enrollment within 30 days, even if the plan generally does not 
accept late enrollees. The maximum period of COBRA 
coverage is usually either 18 months or 36 months, depending 
on which qualifying event occurred.

To have the chance to elect COBRA coverage after a divorce 
or legal separation, or a child ceasing to be a dependent under 
the plan, you and/or a family member must inform the plan 
in writing of that event no later than 60 days after that event 
occurs.

Notices must be sent to: 
Division of Retirement and Benefits 
P.O. Box 110203, Juneau, AK 99811-0203

Current defined benefit retirees COBRA rates are 
available at drb.alaska.gov/employee/cobra.html#cost
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ALABAMA - Medicaid

myalhipp.com | (855) 692-5447

ALASKA - Medicaid

myakhipp.com | (866) 251-4861 | CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com  
dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/medicaid/default.aspx

ARKANSAS - Medicaid 

myarhipp.com | (855) 692-7447

CALIFORNIA - Medicaid 

dhcs.ca.gov/hipp | (916) 445-8322 | Fax: (916) 440-5676 | hipp@dhcs.ca.gov

COLORADO - Medicaid and CHP+

healthfirstcolorado.com | (800) 221-3943, State Relay 711 
CHP+: colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/child-health-plan-plus | (800) 359-1991, 
State Relay 711  
colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/health-insurance-buy-program | (855) 692-6442

FLORIDA - Medicaid

flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/index.html | 
(877) 357-3268 

GEORGIA - Medicaid

HIPP: medicaid.georgia.gov/health-insurance-premium-payment-program-
hipp | (678) 564-1162, Press 1 | CHIPRA: medicaid.georgia.gov/programs/
third-party-liability/childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization-
act-2009-chipra | (678) 564-1162, Press 2

INDIANA - Medicaid

Low-Income Adults 19-64: in.gov/fssa/hip | (877) 438-4479 
All Others: in.gov/medicaid | (800) 457-4584

IOWA - Medicaid and CHIP (Hawki)

dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members | (800) 338-8366  
Hawki: dhs.iowa.gov/Hawki | (800) 257-8563  
HIPP: dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members/medicaid-a-to-z/hipp | (888) 346-9562

KANSAS - Medicaid

kancare.ks.gov | (800) 792-4884

KENTUCKY - Medicaid

chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx | (855) 459-6328 
KIHIPP.PROGRAM@ky.gov | KCHIP: kidshealth.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx  
(877) 524-4718 | chfs.ky.gov

LOUISIANA - Medicaid

medicaid.la.gov | (888) 342-6207 | ldh.la.gov/lahipp | (855) 618-5488 

MAINE - Medicaid

maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/applications-forms | (800) 442-6003 | TTY: Maine relay 711  
(800) 977-6740 | TTY: Maine relay 711

MASSACHUSETTS - Medicaid and CHIP

mass.gov/masshealth/pa | (800) 862-4840

MINNESOTA - Medicaid

mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-
programs/programs-and-services/other-insurance.jsp | (800) 657-3739

MISSOURI - Medicaid

dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm | (573) 751-2005

MONTANA - Medicaid

dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP | (800) 694-3084

NEW HAMPSHIRE - Medicaid

dhhs.nh.gov/oii/hipp.htm | (603) 271-5218  
(800) 852-3345, ext 5218

NEBRASKA - Medicaid

ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov | (855) 632-7633  
Lincoln: (402) 473-7000 | Omaha: (402) 595-1178

NEVADA - Medicaid

dhcfp.nv.gov | (800) 992-0900 

NEW JERSEY - Medicaid and CHIP

state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid | (609) 631-2392 
CHIP: njfamilycare.org/index.html | (800) 701-0710

NEW YORK - Medicaid

health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid | (800) 541-2831

NORTH CAROLINA - Medicaid

medicaid.ncdhhs.gov | (919) 855-4100

NORTH DAKOTA - Medicaid

nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid | (844) 854-4825

OKLAHOMA - Medicaid and CHIP

oklahoma.gov/ohca/insureoklahoma.html | (888) 365-3742

OREGON - Medicaid

healthcare.oregon.gov | (800) 699-9075

PENNSYLVANIA - Medicaid

dhs.pa.gov/Services/Assistance/Pages/HIPP-Program.aspx | (800) 692-7462

RHODE ISLAND - Medicaid and CHIP

eohhs.ri.gov | (855) 697-4347, (401) 462-0311

SOUTH CAROLINA - Medicaid

scdhhs.gov | (888) 549-0820

SOUTH DAKOTA - Medicaid

dss.sd.gov | (888) 828-0059

TEXAS - Medicaid

gethipptexas.com | (800) 440-0493

UTAH - Medicaid and CHIP

medicaid.utah.gov | CHIP: health.utah.gov/chip | (877) 543-7669

VERMONT - Medicaid

greenmountaincare.org | (800) 250-8427

VIRGINIA - Medicaid and CHIP

coverva.org/en/famis-select | coverva.org/en/hipp  
(800) 432-5924 | CHIP: (800) 432-5924

WASHINGTON - Medicaid

hca.wa.gov | (800) 562-3022

WEST VIRGINIA - Medicaid and CHIP

dhhr.wv.gov/bms | mywvhipp.com  
(304) 558-1700 | CHIP: (855) 699- 8447

WISCONSIN - Medicaid and CHIP

dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/p-10095.htm | (800) 362-3002

WYOMING - Medicaid

health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-and-eligibility 
(800) 251-1269
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To see if any other states have added a premium assistance program since January 31, 2024, or for more information on special 
enrollment rights, contact either:

•	 U.S. Department of Labor 
Employee Benefits Security Administration 
dol.gov/agencies/ebsa 
(866) 444-EBSA (3272)

•	 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
cms.hhs.gov        
(877) 267-2323, Menu Option 4, Ext. 61565
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AlaskaCare Employees—Prescription Drug Coverage 
and Medicare 
You can find this notice online at 
drb.alaska.gov/help/legal.html# 
creditable.

This notice has information regarding 
your current prescription drug 
coverage under the AlaskaCare Health 
Plan and the options available to you 
under Medicare’s prescription drug 
coverage. This information can help 
you decide if joining a Medicare drug 
plan is right for you. If you are 
considering joining, compare your 
current AlaskaCare Health Plan 
coverage, including which drugs are 
covered and at what cost, with the 
coverage and costs of the plans offering 
Medicare prescription drug coverage in 
your area. If you would like assistance 
with choosing the right prescription 
drug coverage, please see the end of 
this notice. 

Medicare prescription drug coverage is 
available to Medicare eligible people 
through Medicare Prescription Drugs 
Plans (PDPs) and Medicare Advantage 
Plans (like an HMO or PPO) that offer 
prescription drug coverage. All 
Medicare drug plans provide a standard 
level of coverage set by Medicare. Some 
other plans may also offer more 
coverage for a higher monthly premium.  

The State of Alaska has determined that 

the prescription drug coverage offered 
by the AlaskaCare Health Plan is 
considered “Creditable Coverage.” 
Creditable Coverage means that the 
value of the Plan’s prescription drug 
benefit is, on average for all plan 
participants, expected to pay out as 
much as standard Medicare 
prescription drug coverage pays. 
Because the plan options noted above 
are Creditable Coverage, you can elect 
or keep prescription drug coverage 
under the plan and not pay a higher 
premium (a penalty) if you later decide 
to enroll in a Medicare prescription 
drug plan. 

When Can You Join a Medicare 
Drug Plan? 

You can join a Medicare drug plan 
when you first become eligible for 
Medicare or during Medicare’s annual 
election period (from October 15 to 
December 7). You may also be eligible 
for a two (2) month Special Enrollment 
Period (SEP) to join a Medicare drug 
plan if you lose your current creditable 
prescription drug coverage, through no 
fault of your own.

What Happens to Your Current 
Coverage if You Decide to Join a 
Medicare Drug Plan? 

You can elect to keep your current 

prescription drug coverage with the 
AlaskaCare Plan, and you do not have to 
enroll in a separate Medicare 
prescription drug plan. If you decide to 
join a separate Medicare drug plan, your 
AlaskaCare Health Plan coverage will 
be affected. The AlaskaCare Enhanced 
Group Waiver Plan (EGWP) is a group 
Medicare Part D (Drug) plan. You cannot 
be enrolled in more than one EGWP at a 
time. If you enroll in a separate Medicare 
drug plan, we will disenroll you from the 
AlaskaCare EGWP but you will continue 
to receive the standard AlaskaCare 
pharmacy benefits.

When will You Pay a Higher 
Premium (Penalty) to Join a 
Medicare Drug Plan? 

If you lose or drop your AlaskaCare 
Health Plan coverage and don’t join a 
Medicare drug plan within 63 
continuous days after your current 
coverage ends, you may pay a higher 
premium (a penalty) to join a Medicare 
drug plan later. If you go 63 continuous 
days or longer without creditable 
prescription drug coverage, your 
monthly premium may go up by at least 
1% of the Medicare base beneficiary 
premium per month for every month 
that you did not have Medicare 
prescription drug coverage or a 
creditable prescription drug plan. For 

Continued on page 10 

Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/

help/legal.html#whcra.

If you are covered under the AlaskaCare Employee 
Health Plan, you or your dependents may be 
entitled to certain benefits under the Women’s 
Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998 (WHCRA). 
For individuals receiving mastectomy-related 
benefits, coverage will be provided in a manner 
determined in consultation with the attending 
physician and the patient for: 

	• All stages of reconstruction of the breast on 
which the mastectomy was performed;

	• Surgery and reconstruction of the other breast to produce 
a symmetrical appearance;

	• Prostheses; and 

	• Treatment of physical complications of the mastectomy, 
including lymphedema. 

Plan limits, deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance apply 
to these benefits. For more information on WHCRA benefits, 
see the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan document at drb.
alaska.gov/employee/healthplans.html#booklets or contact the 
Aetna concierge at (855) 784-8646. 
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Your Rights and Protections Against Surprise 
Medical Bills 
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/
help/legal.html#medbills.

When you get emergency care or are treated by an out-of-
network provider at a network hospital or ambulatory 
surgical center, you are protected from surprise billing or 
balance billing. In these cases, you shouldn’t be charged more 
than your plan’s copayments, coinsurance and/or deductible.

What is “balance billing” (sometimes called 
“surprise billing”)?

When you see a doctor or other health care provider, you may 
owe certain out-of-pocket costs, such as a copayment, 
coinsurance, and/or a deductible. You may have other costs or 
have to pay the entire bill if you see a provider or visit a 
health care facility that isn’t in your health plan’s network.

“Out-of-network” means providers and facilities that haven’t 
signed a contract with your health plan to provide services. 
Out-of-network providers may 
be allowed to bill you for the  
difference between what your  
plan  pays and the full amount  
charged for a service. This is  
called “balance billing.” This  
amount is likely more than in- 
network costs for the same  
service and might not count  
toward your plan’s deductible  
or annual out-of-pocket limit.

“Surprise billing” is an unexpected balance bill. This can 
happen when you can’t control who is involved in your care—
like when you have an emergency or when you schedule a 
visit at an in-network facility but are unexpectedly treated by 
an out-of-network provider. Surprise medical bills could cost 
thousands of dollars depending on the procedure or service.

You are protected from balance billing for:

1.	 Emergency services: If you have an emergency medical 
condition and get emergency services from an out-of-
network provider or facility, the most they can  bill you 
is your plan’s in-network cost-sharing amount (such as 
copayments, coinsurance and deductibles). You can’t be 
balance billed for these emergency services. This 
includes services you may get after you’re in stable 
condition unless you give written consent and give up 
your protections not to be balanced billed for these 
post-stabilization services. 

2.	 Certain services at an in-network hospital or 
ambulatory surgical center: When you get services 
from an in- network hospital or ambulatory surgical 

center, certain providers there may 
be out-of-network. In these cases, 
the most those providers may bill 
you is your plan’s in-network cost-
sharing amount. This applies to emergency 
medicine, anesthesia, pathology, radiology, laboratory, 
neonatology, assistant surgeon, hospitalist, or 
intensivist services. These providers can’t balance bill 
you and may not ask you to give up your protections 
not to be balance billed. 
 
If you get other services at these in-network facilities, 
out-of-network providers can’t balance bill you, unless 
you give written consent and give up your protections.

You’re never required to give up  your protections from balance 
billing. You also aren’t required to get care out-of-network. You 
can choose a provider or facility in your plan’s network.

When balance billing isn’t allowed, you also have the 
following protections:

a.	 You are only responsible  
   	 for paying your share of the 	
	 cost (like the copayments, 	
	 coinsurance, and 		
	 deductibles that you would 	
	 pay if the provider or 		
	 facility was in-network).  
       Your health plan will pay  
       any additional costs to 

b.	 Generally your health plan must:

	• Cover emergency services without requiring you to get 
approval for services in advance (also known as “prior 
authorization”).

	• Cover emergency services by out-of-network providers.

	• Base what you owe the provider or facility (cost-sharing) 
on what it would pay an in-network provider or facility 
and show that amount in your explanation of benefits

	• Count any amount your pay for emergency services or 
out-of-network services toward your in-network 
deductible and out-of-pocket limit. 

If you believe you’ve been wrongly billed and/or have 
questions about rights under federal law, contact the Centers 
for Medicare & Medicaid Services at NonFed@cms.hhs.gov.

	• For information and complaints: (800) 985-3059

	• cms.gov/nosurprises/consumers 

When you get emergency care or are treated 
by an out-of-network provider at a network 
hospital or ambulatory surgical center, you 

are protected from surprise billing or balance 
billing. In these cases, you shouldn’t be 

charged more than your plan’s copayments, 
coinsurance, and/or deductible.

out-of-network providers and facilities directly.
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Notice of HIPAA Privacy Practices

The AlaskaCare self-funded group 
health plan, including the State of 
Alaska Active Employee Plan, the 
Defined Benefit (DB) Retiree Plan, and 
the Defined Contribution (DCR) 
Retiree Plan (which may include health, 
dental, vision, employee assistance, 
wellness, medical flexible spending 
accounts, COBRA administration, or 
other coverage affecting any structure 
of the body as those benefits may be 
offered from time to time) (hereafter 
referred to as the “Plan”), is required by 
law to take reasonable steps to maintain 
the privacy of your personally identifiable 
health information (called Protected 
Health Information or PHI) and to 
inform you about the Plan’s legal duties 
and privacy practices with respect to 
Protected Health Information including:

	• Your rights to privacy with respect to 
your PHI,

	• The Plan’s uses and disclosures of PHI,

	• The Plan’s duties with respect to your 
PHI,

	• Your right to file a        
complaint with the Plan and 

with the Secretary of the 
U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services (HHS),

	• The person or office you 
should contact for further 
information about the 
Plan’s privacy practices, and

	• The Plan’s duty to 
notify affected individuals 

following a breach of unsecured 
Protected Health Information. 

PHI use and disclosure by the Plan is 
regulated by the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA). You may find these rules in 
Section 45 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations, Parts 160 and 164. The 
regulations will supersede this Notice if 
there is any discrepancy between the 
information in this Notice and the 
regulations. The Plan will abide by the 
terms of the Notice currently in effect. 
The Plan reserves the right to change 
the terms of this Notice and to make 
the new Notice provisions effective for 
all PHI it maintains.

You may receive a Privacy Notice from a 
variety of the insured group health 
benefit plans offered by the State of 
Alaska. Each of these notices will 
describe your rights as it pertains to 
that plan and in compliance with the 
Federal regulation, HIPAA. This Privacy 
Notice, however, pertains to your 
Protected Health Information related to 
the AlaskaCare self-funded benefit plan 
(the “Plan”) and outside companies 
contracted to help administer Plan 
benefits, called “Business Associates.”

Effective Date

The effective date of this Notice is 
October 1, 2024, and this notice replaces 
notices previously distributed to you.

Privacy Officer

The Plan has designated a Privacy 
Officer to oversee the administration of 
privacy by the Plan and to receive 
complaints. The Privacy Officer may be 
contacted at:

State of Alaska  
Division of Retirement and Benefits 
P.O. Box 110203 
Juneau, AK 99811-0203

Phone: (907) 465-4460 
Email: doa.HIPAA.team@alaska.gov

Your Protected Health Information

The term Protected Health Information 
(PHI) includes all information related 
to your past, present or future health 
condition(s) (or that relates to the 
payment for those conditions(s)) that 
individually identifies you or could 
reasonably be used to identify you and 
is transferred to another entity or 
maintained by the Plan in oral, written, 
electronic, or any other form.

PHI does not include health 
information contained in employment 
records held by the State of Alaska in 
its role as an employer, including but 
not limited to health information on 
disability benefits, life insurance, 
accidental death and dismemberment 
insurance, sick leave, Family or 
Medical Leave (FMLA), workers’ 
compensation, drug testing, etc.

Your Rights to privacy with 
respect to your PHI

When it comes to your health 
information, you have certain rights. 
This section explains your rights and 
some of our responsibilities to help you.

Get a copy of health and claims records

You have the right to inspect and obtain 
a copy (in hard copy or electronic form) 
of your PHI (except psychotherapy notes 
and information compiled in reasonable 
contemplation of an administrative 
action or proceeding) contained in a 
“Designated Record Set,” for as long as 
the Plan maintains the PHI.

A Designated Record Set includes your 
medical records and billing records that 
are maintained by or for the Plan. Records 
include enrollment, payment, billing, 
claims adjudication and case or medical 
management record systems maintained, 
or other information used by or for the 
Plan to make decisions about you.

You or your personal representative 
will be required to complete a form to 

This notice describes how 
medical information about you 
may be used and disclosed 
and how you can get access to 
this information. Please 
review it carefully.

This Notice is required by law.

You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/help/legal.html#hipaa.



This Plan will NOT automatically recognize your Spouse as your Personal 
Representative and vice versa.

In order for your legal Spouse to be your Personal Representative, you must 
complete a form, “Authorization for the Use and/or Disclosure of Protected 
Health Information” and submit that form to the Alaska Division of 
Retirement and Benefits (DRB). The form is available on the DRB Webpage, 
drb.alaska.gov/docs/forms/ben043.pdf.

You may also present the DRB with a copy of a notarized Health Care Power 
of Attorney or General Durable Power of Attorney allowing one spouse to make  
decisions about the other spouse’s health care if they are unable to do so, or a document 
demonstrating you are the court-appointed conservator or guardian for your spouse.

If you have appointed your Spouse as your Personal Representative, you can 
indicate the date the authorization expires. If no expiration date is listed, 
this authorization will expire two (2) years from the date of signature.
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request access to the PHI in your 
Designated Record Set. Requests for 
access to your PHI should be made to 
the Plan’s Privacy Officer at their 
address listed on the first page of this 
Notice. The Plan reserves the right to 
charge a reasonable cost-based fee for 
creating or copying the PHI or 
preparing a summary of your PHI.

You Have the Right to Amend Your PHI

If you think your health or claims 
records are incorrect or incomplete, you 
or your Personal Representative have 
the right to request that the Plan amend 
your PHI or a record about you in a 
designated record set for as long as the 
PHI is maintained in the designated 
record set. You should make your 
request to amend PHI to the Privacy 
Officer at their address listed on the 
first page of this Notice. We have the 
right to deny your request, but we will 
tell you why in writing within 60 days.

You Have the Right to Request that PHI 
be Transmitted to You Confidentially

The Plan will permit and accommodate 
your reasonable request to have PHI 
sent to you by alternative means or to 
an alternative location (such as mailing 
PHI to a different address or allowing 
you to personally pick up the PHI that 
would otherwise be mailed), if you 
provide a written request to the Plan 
that the disclosure of PHI to your usual 
location could endanger you. If you 
believe you have this situation, you 
should contact the Plan’s Privacy 
Officer to discuss your request for 
confidential PHI transmission.

Ask us to limit what we use or share

	• You May Request Restrictions on 
PHI Uses and Disclosures

	• You may request the Plan to restrict 
the uses and disclosures of your PHI:

	» To carry out treatment, payment, or 
health care operations; or

	» To family members, relatives, 
friends, or other persons identified 
by you who are involved in your care.

The Plan, however, is not required to 
agree to your request if the Plan 
Administrator or Privacy Officer 
determines it to be unreasonable—for 
example, if it would interfere with the 
Plan’s ability to pay a claim.

You Have the Right to Receive an 
Accounting of the Plan’s PHI Disclosures

At your request, the Plan will also 
provide you with an accounting of 
disclosures by the Plan of your PHI 
during the six years (or shorter period if 
requested) before the date of your 
request. The Plan will not provide you 
with an accounting of disclosures 
related to treatment, payment, or health 
care operations, or disclosures made to 
you or authorized by you in writing. If 
you request more than one accounting 
within a 12-month period, the Plan will 
charge a reasonable, cost-based fee for 
each subsequent accounting.

You Have the Right to Receive a Paper 
or Electronic Copy of This Notice 
Upon Request

To obtain a paper or electronic copy of 
this Notice, contact the Plan’s Privacy 
Officer at their address listed on the 
first page of this Notice.

Choose someone to act for you

If you have given someone medical 
power of attorney or if someone is your 

legal guardian, that 
person can exercise 
your rights and 
make choices about 
your health 
information. Your 
Personal 
Representative will generally be 
required to produce evidence (proof) of 
the authority to act on your behalf before 
the Personal Representative will be given 
access to your PHI or be allowed to take 
any action for you.

Under this Plan, proof of such authority 
will include a completed and signed 
Authorization for the Use and/or 
Disclosure of Protected Health 
Information (PHI) (ben043.pdf).

Your Right to File a Complaint

If you believe that your privacy  
rights have been violated, you may file 
a complaint with the Plan in care of 
the Plan’s Privacy Officer, at the 
address listed at the beginning of this 
Notice. Neither your employer nor the 
Plan will retaliate against you for filing 
a complaint. You may also file a  
complaint with the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services Office for 
Civil Rights by sending a letter to 200 
Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, 
D.C. 20201, calling (877) 696-6775, or 
visiting hhs.gov/hipaa/filing-a-
complaint/index.html.

Continued on the next page
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Your Choices

For certain health information, you 
can tell us your choices about what we 
share. If you have a clear preference for 
how we share your information in the 
situations described below, talk to us. 
Tell us what you want us to do, and we 
will follow your instructions. In these 
cases, you have both the right and 
choice to tell us to:

	• Share information with your family, 
close friends, or others involved in 
payment for your care

	• Share information in a disaster 
relief situation

If you are not able to tell us your preference, 
for example if you are unconscious, we 
may go ahead and share your information 
if we believe it is in your best interest. We 
may also share your information when 
needed to lessen a serious and imminent 
threat to health or safety.

In these cases, we never share your 
information unless you give us written 
permission:

	• Marketing purposes

	• Sale of your information

The Plan’s Uses and Disclosures

How do we typically use or share your 
health information?

We typically use or share your health 
information in the following ways.

Help manage the health care treatment 
you receive

We can use your health 
information and share it 
with professionals who are 
treating you.

Example: A doctor sends 
us information about 
your diagnosis and 
treatment plan so we can 

arrange additional services.

Pay for your health services

We can use and disclose your health 
information as we pay for your health 
services.

Administer your plan

We can use and disclose your 
information to run our organization 
and contact you when necessary. We 
may disclose your health information 
to your health plan sponsor for plan 
administration.

Any other Plan uses, and disclosures 
not described in this Notice will be 
made only if you provide the Plan with 
written authorization, subject to your 
right to revoke your authorization, and 
information used and disclosed will be 
made in compliance with the minimum 
necessary standards of the privacy 
regulations.

Definitions and Examples of 
Treatment, Payment, and  
Health Care Operations

Help manage the health care treatment 
you receive Treatment is the provision, 
coordination, or management of health 
care and related services. It also includes 
but is not limited to coordination of 
benefits with a third party and 
consultations and referrals between one 
or more of your health care providers.

For example: The Plan discloses to a 
treating specialist the name of your treating 
primary care physician so the two can confer 
regarding your treatment plan.

Pay for your health services

Payment includes but is not limited to 
making payment for the provision of 
health care, determination of eligibility, 
claims management, and utilization 
review activities such as the assessment 
of medical necessity and appropriateness 
of care.

For example: The Plan tells your doctor 
whether you are eligible for coverage or what 
percentage of the bill will be paid by the Plan.

Administer your plan

Administering your plan includes but is 
not limited to quality assessment and 
improvement, patient safety activities, 
business planning and development, 
reviewing competence or qualifications 
of health care professionals, 
underwriting, enrollment, premium 
rating, and other insurance activities 
relating to creating or renewing 
insurance contracts. It also includes 
disease management, case 
management, conducting or arranging 
for medical review, legal services, and 
auditing functions including fraud and 
abuse compliance programs and 
general administrative activities.

For example: The Plan uses information 
about your medical claims to refer you to a 
health care management program, to project 
future benefit costs, or to audit the accuracy 
of its claims processing functions.

How else can we use or share 
your health information?

We are allowed or required to share 
your information in other ways—
usually in ways that contribute to the 
public good, such as public health and 
research. We have to meet many 
conditions in the law before we can 
share your information for these 
purposes. For more information see: 
hhs.gov/hipaa/for-individuals/guidance-
materials-for-consumers/index.html.

Help with public health and safety issues

We can share health information about 
you for certain situations such as:

	• Preventing disease

	• Helping with product recalls

	• Reporting adverse reactions to 
medications

	• Reporting suspected abuse, neglect, 
or domestic violence

	• Preventing or reducing a serious 
threat to anyone’s health or safety

Do research

In limited situations, we may use or 

Notice of HIPAA Privacy Practices
Continued from the previous page



Definitions and Examples of 
Treatment, Payment, and  
Health Care Operations

Help manage the health care 
treatment you receive

Treatment is the provision, coordination, 
or management of health care and related 
services. It also includes but is not limited 
to coordination of benefits with a third 
party and consultations and referrals 
between one or more of your health care 
providers.

For example: The Plan discloses to a 
treating specialist the name of your 
treating primary care physician so the two 
can confer regarding your treatment plan.

Pay for your health services

Payment includes but is not limited 
to making payment for the provision 
of health care, determination of 
eligibility, claims management, and 
utilization review activities such as 
the assessment of medical necessity 
and appropriateness of care.

For example: The Plan tells your doctor 
whether you are eligible for coverage or what 

percentage of the bill will be 
paid by the Plan.

Administer your plan

Administering your 
plan includes but is not 
limited to quality assessment and 
improvement, patient safety activities, 
business planning and development, 
reviewing competence or qualifications 
of health care professionals, 
underwriting, enrollment, premium 
rating, and other insurance activities 
relating to creating or renewing 
insurance contracts. It also includes 
disease management, case 
management, conducting or arranging 
for medical review, legal services, and 
auditing functions including fraud and 
abuse compliance programs and 
general administrative activities.

For example: The Plan uses information 
about your medical claims to refer you to 
a health care management program, to 
project future benefit costs, or to audit the 
accuracy of its claims processing functions.
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share your information for health 
research; however, usually we will need 
to get your authorization.

Comply with the law

We will share information about you if 
state or federal laws require it, including 
with the Department of Health and 
Human Services if it wants to see that 
we’re complying with federal privacy law.

Respond to organ and tissue donation 
requests and work with a medical 

examiner or funeral director

	• We can share health information 
about you with organ procurement 
organizations.

	• We can share health information 
with a coroner, medical examiner, 
or funeral director when an 
individual dies.

Address workers’ compensation, law 
enforcement, and other government 
requests

We can use or share health information 
about you:

	• For workers’ compensation claims

	• For law enforcement purposes or 
with a law enforcement official

	• With health oversight agencies for 
activities authorized by law

	• For special government functions 
such as military, national security, 
and presidential protective services

Respond to lawsuits and legal actions

We can share health information about you 
in response to a court or administrative 
order, or in response to a subpoena or 
other lawful process.

The Plan’s Duties
 
The Plan is required by law to maintain 
the privacy of your PHI and to provide 
you and your eligible dependents with 
Notice of its legal duties and privacy 
practices. The Plan is required to comply 
with the terms of this Notice. However, 
the Plan reserves the right to change its 
privacy practices and the terms of this 

Notice and to apply the changes to any 
PHI maintained by the Plan.

Notice Distribution

The Notice will be provided to each 
person when he or she initially enrolls 
for benefits in the AlaskaCare Health 
Plan (the Notice is provided in the 
Plan’s New Enrollment materials). The 
Notice is also available on the State of 
Alaska website. The Notice will also be 
provided upon request. Once every 
three years the Plan will notify the 
individuals then covered by the Plan 
where to obtain a copy of the Notice. 

This Plan will satisfy the requirements 
of the HIPAA regulation by providing 
the Notice to the named insured 
(covered employee) of the Plan; 
however, you are encouraged to share 
this Notice with other family members 
covered under the Plan.

Notice Revisions

If a privacy practice of this Plan is 

changed affecting this Notice, a revised 
version of this Notice will be provided 
to you and all participants covered by 
the Plan at the time of the change. Any 
revised version of the Notice will be 
distributed within 60 days of the effective 
date of a material change to the uses and 
disclosures of PHI, your individual 
rights, the duties of the Plan or other 
privacy practices stated in this Notice.

Because our health plan posts its 
Notice on its website, we will 
prominently post the revised Notice on 
that website by the effective date of the 
material change to the Notice. We will 
also provide the revised notice, or 
information about the material change 
and how to obtain the revised Notice, in 
our next annual mailing to individuals 
covered by the Plan.

Breach Notification

If a breach of your unsecured Protected 
Health Information occurs, the Plan 
will notify you.
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AlaskaCare Employees—Prescription Drug Coverage and Medicare 
Continued from page 4 

example, if you go 19 months without creditable coverage, 
your premium will always be at least 19% higher than the 
Medicare base beneficiary premium. You may have to pay 
this higher premium (a penalty) as long as you have Medicare 
prescription drug coverage. In addition, if you go 63 days or 
longer without prescription drug coverage you may have to 
wait until the following October to enroll for Medicare 
prescription drug coverage. 

For more information about this notice contact the Alaska 
Medicare Information Office at (800) 478-6065 or in Anchorage 
at (907) 269-3680. For more information about your AlaskaCare 
Prescription Drug Coverage, contact Optum Rx at (855) 409-6999. 

NOTE: This notice will be sent to you each year, before the next 
available period in which you can join a Medicare drug 

plan, and if there are any changes to your AlaskaCare 
Health Plan prescription drug coverage. You also 
may request a copy of this notice at any time. 

For More Information About Your 
Options Under Medicare Prescription 
Drug Coverage 

For more detailed information about Medicare 
plans that offer prescription drug coverage, 

please see the “Medicare & You” handbook. Every 

year Medicare will send a copy of the handbook through the 
mail. Medicare may also contact you directly regarding their 
drug plans. For more information about Medicare 
prescription drug coverage please see the following: 

	• Visit medicare.gov. 

	• Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see 
the inside back cover of your copy of the “Medicare & You” 
handbook for their telephone number) for personalized help. 

	• Call (800) MEDICARE (1-800 -633-4227). TTY users 
should call (877) 486-2048. 

If you have limited income and resources, assistance in 
paying for Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. 
For information about payment assistance, please visit Social 
Security on the web at socialsecurity.gov, or call at  (800) 
772-1213. TTY users should call (800) 325-0778. 

Remember: Keep this Creditable Coverage notice. If 
you decide to join one of the Medicare drug plans, 
you may be required to provide a copy of this notice 
in order to show whether you have maintained 
creditable coverage and, therefore, whether you 
are required to pay a higher premium (a penalty.)

Notice of Special Enrollment Rights 
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/
help/legal.html# enrollmentrights

IMPORTANT: After the open enrollment period is completed 
(or, if you are a new hire, after your initial enrollment election 
period is over), generally you will not be allowed to change 
your benefit elections or add/delete dependents until next 
year’s open enrollment, unless you have a Special Enrollment 
Event, or a Qualified Status Change Event as outlined below: 

Loss of Other Coverage Event: If you decline enrollment for 
yourself or your dependents (including your spouse) because 
of other health insurance or group health plan coverage, you 
may be able to enroll yourself and your dependents in this 
plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility for that other 
coverage (or if the employer stops contributing toward your 
or your dependents’ other coverage). However, you must 
request enrollment within 30 days after your or your 
dependents’ other coverage ends (or after the employer stops 
contributing towards the other coverage). 

Marriage, Birth, Adoption Event: If you have a new 

dependent as a result of marriage, birth, adoption, or 
placement for adoption, you may be able to enroll yourself 
and your dependents. However, you must request enrollment 
within 30 days after the marriage, birth, adoption, or 
placement for adoption. 

Medicaid/CHIP Event: You and your eligible dependents may 
also enroll in this plan if you (or your dependents): 

	• Have coverage through Medicaid or a State Children’s 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and you (or your 
dependents) lose eligibility for that coverage. However, 
you must request enrollment within 60 days after the 
Medicaid or CHIP coverage ends. 

	• Become eligible for a premium assistance program 
through Medicaid or CHIP. However, you must request 
enrollment within 60 days after you (or your dependents) 
are determined to be eligible for such assistance. 

To request special enrollment or obtain more information, 
contact the Division of Retirement and Benefits toll free at  
(800) 821-2251 or (907) 465-4460 in Juneau. 
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Patient Protection Rights of the Affordable Care Act 
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/
help/legal.html#enrollmentrights. 

Designation of a Primary Care Provider (PCP): The medical 
plans offered by the State of Alaska do not require the 
selection or designation of a primary care provider (PCP). You 
have the ability to visit any in-network (or non-network) 
health care provider; however, payment by the Plan may be 
less for the use of a non-network provider. To locate an 
in-network provider, visit Aetna’s provider directory, 
DocFind®, at aetna.com/docfind/custom/alaskacare. 

Direct Access to OB/GYN Providers: You do not need prior 
authorization (pre-approval) from the State of Alaska or from 
any other person (including a primary care provider) in order 
to obtain access to obstetrical or gynecological (OB/GYN) 
care from an in-network health care professional who 
specializes in obstetrics or gynecology. The health care 
professional, however, may be required to comply with 
certain procedures, including obtaining prior authorization 
for certain services, following a pre-approved treatment plan, 
or procedures for making referrals. For a list of participating 
health care professionals who specialize in obstetrics or 
gynecology, contact the Aetna’s Concierge at (855) 784-8646.

Important Reminder
Provide the Plan with the Taxpayer Identification 
Number or Social Security Number of Each 
Enrollee in a Health Plan 
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/
help/legal.html#tin.

Employers are required by law to collect the taxpayer 
identification number (TIN) or social security number (SSN) 
of each medical plan participant and include that number on 
reports that will be provided to the IRS each year. Employers 
are required to make at least two consecutive attempts to 
gather missing TINs/SSNs. 

If a dependent does not yet have a social security number, 

please visit ssa.gov/forms/ss-5.pdf, 
complete the form to request an SSN. 
Applying for a social security number is 
FREE. The SSN will also be used to help 
fulfill mandatory reporting requirements to 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) for 
the purposes of permitting Medicare to coordinate benefits for 
individuals enrolled in both an employer-sponsored medical 
plan and Medicare. 

If you have not yet provided the social security number (or other 
TIN) for each of your dependents that you have enrolled in 
the health plan, please contact the Division of Retirement and 
Benefits toll free at (800) 821-2251 or (907) 465-4460 in Juneau.

Availability of Summary of Benefits and Coverage 
Document(s) 
You can find this notice online at drb.alaska.gov/ 
help/legal.html#summaryofbenefits.

The health benefits that are available to you from the  
AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan represent a significant  
component of your compensation package. They also provide  
important protection for you and your family in the case of  
illness or injury. In accordance with law, our employee plan  
provides you with Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC)  
documents to help you understand and compare medical  
plan benefits. Each SBC document summarizes and  
compares essential information including what is covered,  
what isn’t, what you need to pay for diverse benefits, and  
where to get answers to questions. The SBC documents are  
updated when there is a change to the benefits information.  
To get a free copy of the most current SBC documents for the  
AlaskaCare medical plan options and the Uniform Glossary  
that defines many terms in the SBC, go to AlaskaCare.gov, or 
for a paper copy, contact the Division of Retirement and Benefits  
toll-free at (800) 821-2251 or (907) 465-4460 in Juneau.

Open Enrollment is Coming!
For the AlaskaCare Employee Plan

Enrollment elections 
become effective  
January 1, 2025. In  
late October, you will 
receive an Open  
Enrollment notice  
with instructions on accessing everything you need to 
review your benefits and enroll for the coming benefit year. 
During Open Enrollment, you will be able to review your 
current benefit elections on the Division of Retirement and 
Benefits website and review any new plan offerings for 2025. 

To make your benefit elections for 2025, visit 
AlaskaCare.gov/OpenEnrollment.

Open enrollment for the 
upcoming benefit year is 
November 6 - 27, 2024. 
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Health Benefit  
Contact Information

Medical Benefits:  
Aetna Concierge,  
Member Services 
 (855) 784-8646 

Dental Benefits:  
Moda/Delta Dental 
Member Services 

(855) 718-1768 

Pharmacy Benefits:  
Optum Rx 

Member Services  
(855) 409-6999 

Long-Term Care Benefits: 
CHCS Services, Inc.  

Member Services  
(888) 287-7116

doa.drb.benefits@alaska.gov

(907) 465-4460 
(800) 821-2251 

TDD: (907) 465-2805 
Fax: (907) 465-3086

Newborns’ and Mothers’ Health Protection Act Notice
Continued from page 1
 
(e.g., physician or health care practitioner), after consultation with the mother, discharges the 
mother or newborn earlier.	
 
Also, under federal law, plans may not set the level of benefits or out-of-pocket costs so that any 
later portion of the 48-hour (or 96-hour) stay is treated in a manner less favorable to the mother 
or newborn than any earlier portion of the stay.

In addition, the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan may not, under federal law, require that a 
physician or other health care practitioner obtain authorization for prescribing a length of stay 
of up to 48 hours (or 96 hours). However, to use certain providers or facilities or to reduce your 

out-of-pocket costs, you may be required to obtain pre-certification. For information on pre-
certification for a length of stay longer than 48 hours for vaginal birth or 96 hours for cesarean 
section, contact the Aetna Concierge at (855) 784-8646 to pre-certify the extended stay. You may 
also contact the Aetna concierge if you have questions about this notice.

Please review the AlaskaCare Employee Health Plan document for additional information,  
drb.alaska.gov/docs/booklets/AC-EmployeeHealthPlanBooklet_WEB.


